23 December 2006

Artline 1995

Curated by Malcom Bywaters
Presented by the Whitt Artists group
10.10.1995 - 04.10.1995
Foy & Gibson Gallery
Melbourne, Australia

42 emerging and established artists.

The Artline curatorial series was first established by Malcom Bywaters as a 30-year survey exhibition of Australian contemporary art. In this inaugral group exhibition held by the Whitt Artists (founded by Malcom Bywaters in the early 1990s) several artists have since gone on to achieve international aclaim incluing Domic Redfern and William Eicholtz (winner of the 2005 Helen Lumprere Sculpture Prize ($100,000 AUD).

There have since been follow-up Artline exhibitions including Artline 1997 (Linden Gallery 1997) and Artline 2002: the Contemporary Portrait (Academy Gallery 2002). The next installment will be staged in 2007.